'Inner Hue' LP, available now on Non Projects


Listen to 'This is What I Meant' at Dummy Mag

Check out XLR8R's feature on Anenon


1. Eighty-Four
2. This Is What I Meant
3. Stone River
4. Murmurs
5. Embers (feat. Laura Teasley)
6. Memory Residue
7. The Sea and the Stars
8. Inner Hue
9. I’m Awake Tonight
10. Entwine

'Acquiescence' EP, available now on Non Projects and streaming in its entirety at XLR8R.

1. Clairvoyance
2. Acquiescence 
3. Equilibrium
4. Twenty twenty
5. Rites

‘Inner Hue’ is the debut full-length release from Non Projects founder and 2011 Red Bull Music Academy alum Brian Allen Simon, or Anenon. While sharing similar stripped down recording approaches to the recent ‘Acquiescence’ EP, the music of ‘Inner Hue’ is an entirely different journey. With ‘Acquiescence’, Brian kept the source material of grand piano and saxophone transparent, letting the instruments themselves tell the story. With ‘Inner Hue’, Brian goes far deeper into the notes and takes the instrumentation of Rhodes piano and tenor saxophone into new territories, coaxing nuanced textures and sounds with personal vocabulary unique to each track. An album that moves with sonic intent and abstract narrative, ‘Inner Hue’ reveals new paths with each play.

Throughout the record, electric piano timbres remain prevalent, with raw, elegant and lucid tone colors embossed onto a tangible audio field. Seductive and ruminating melodies run rampant, in shifting counterpoint with luxuriant and ageless textures, always with a corporeal melodic yearning. The music of ‘Inner Hue’ is communicated with a unique and individualized finesse. At times, it’s physical and upfront, as when the saxophones roar over sturdy, cracking drums in “Murmurs”, or the title track’s layers of Rhodes building and amalgamating with double time percussive syncopations. Other moments, on tracks like “Embers” and opener “Eighty-Four”, feature patient ebbing and flowing through space, rarely heard these days.

A testament to Brian’s formal and informal studies of composition, ‘Inner Hue’ advances with a unique, organic cinematic tension, coming to a harmonious close with “Entwine”, a highly visual piece of lullaby, with high notes, raw bass tones, studied counterpoint and delicate ambience. An artist obsessed with building his own voice, no matter what palate he chooses, Anenon’s ‘Inner Hue’ marks the beginning of a long and idiosyncratic life of music ahead.


Stream & Download

(right click and save as to download)
%s1 / %s2

Album Artwork

One Sheets